One down…

And this is where it all ends. My breath caught in my throat as I looked up and met fire with fire. Maybe my prayer had been heard? I wanted to have hope, but experience had trampled that farcical illusion flat a long time ago.
Eyes glowed from ontop of the barrier of flesh that carpeted the floor of the cave, but that would have to wait. I had more pressing matters at hand, namely, perhaps, the single most powerful creation of all time: the former Archangel Satanael,  AKA Satan, the Devil, my father…he turned his entire body around to face me, I fished for the only form of defence I still possesed – the book.
   ‘So this is what it feels like.’ Satan softly, calmly said as he advanced on me one slow step at a time.
I held my ground and leaving the cover closed I let my other hand wander. ‘What what feels like?’
‘To be betrayed by your own child…’ he was almost with reaching distance now. Also, I had noticed the Leviathan had dissapeared from my peripheral.
I brandished the dagger with a furious hissing of my flesh as it violently worked its way through skin and bone. Black fire encompassed my hand both lighting up the cave and plunging us into darkness at the same time, like the negatives to photographs of the sun.
First Satan’s eyes flashed in recognition, then in fear. ‘How is this possible? Them markings…’ he had stopped moving.
My hand was almost completely disintegrated. Pain wasn’t the word. ‘I have travelled far and wide father. I have killed countless…argh, times. I even killed a Pope once-‘
Satan’s face flickered as he took his final leap toward me. Now he knew what I wielded was no illusion, and for the briefest of instances I saw the true face of evil. But, unfortunately for me, an instance is long enough to burn into you and haunt your waking moments for the rest of time.
The blade sunk into the book with a satisfying squelch as I let it drop to the floor.
The air opened up in front of my eyes and swallowed the flailing Devil whole quicker than the lightning strikes. My hand was ruined, gristly sinews held most of my fingers flapping, thankfully, still attached to my palm, but the skin was no more.
A horrible snarling screech reverberated through the cavern as bodies began to burn beneath the feet of the Leviathan. This was not over. Pulling the blood-red silk from my pocket I retrieved the blade still embedded in the book. And with one last fleeting look at it, regret at having to abandon it, I fled into the light of the morning. Time would heal me, but time was not on my side. The Leviathan must be dealt with. Death and chaos would still be the catalyst needed for the rise of the Phalse Prophet. Then all of my sacrifice would have been for nought.
But just for the moment, I needed to rest. I looked up toward the sky and felt something stir from deep within.
Maybe God was listening after all.

About Henry Game

Want to know more? Check out the blog. View all posts by Henry Game

25 responses to “One down…

  • edwinlives4ever

    God is listening all right. Always.

    Whether He decides to do anything about it is another matter. 😉

  • charlypriest

    So are you writing this with the toes of your feet? You don´t have a hand.

    Evil prevails when good men fail to act……
    had to get in that corny cliché little phrase

    • henrygame

      I did heal Charles, eventually. You may have noticed that I wrote that most of my fingers were still attached?
      Enough for my to write these damned things…yet sadly not enough to strum the harp.
      😥

      • charlypriest

        Strump the harp….those are some serious words, by the way what is up with all these strange yellow faces people put up? It´s a whole new language or hieroglyphics you have to learn in order for that strange scary face to appear, where do people find the time to learn all those hieroglyphics……

      • henrygame

        It is a highly sophisticated system my friend. Perhaps I will attempt to teach you one day, if you’re lucky.

      • charlypriest

        Better be quick about it, don´t have much time left

      • henrygame

        The eyes are colons. Go on try it, it’s invigorating!
        Next, you could chose one of many different options, but for this introductory course choose either of the curved brackets. Make sure you leave no space between the colon and the bracket.
        There.
        Turn the phone (or your head) 90 degree and look at what you have just done. Do you see the face?
        Now Chuck, you may go forth and communicate globally. Experiment with letters and symbols. Carpe Diem!

      • charlypriest

        :)……….. did it come out right on your side?
        Hold it…… ❤ ha, try that one. This is the good thing of having women swarming all over you 24/7, I know how to make freaky hearts!

      • henrygame

        Well done Chucky!!
        I am so proud of you right now my dear friend.
        :p

      • charlypriest

        what is the p with the two dots? didn´t come out anything on your side with that.

        Dady Henry is proud of sonny Chuck, this is getting emotional…..

      • henrygame

        What can I say? I’m an emotional guy. We British are you know? Despite what the rest of the planet thinks.
        8^]

      • charlypriest

        No, Brits are cold and heartless I know that from first hand experience and what´s up with the “Bobbys” you know that strange looking hat they wear…they don´t even have guns, weird Brit´s…… :;///:)–++-+

      • henrygame

        I have swiped a few of them hats in my time. They don’t like people who do that to them. He he
        They don’t have guns because they (the government) are afraid that if they arm the police with guns then even the Petty criminals will arm themselves also. Yet what they fail to realise is, they probably already have

      • charlypriest

        But at least they are funny looking, defenseless but funny-cool looking with an air of some kind of dukes, at least that´s my impression, so it´s amusing when you walk down the street.

      • charlypriest

        What´s up with you by the way, it´s 7:30 a.m here in Spain so over there must be 8:30, too early for being awake on vacation Henry

      • henrygame

        Here, right now it’s 06.33
        I have been awake since 04.45
        Usually awake early. Too many faces haunt my dreams
        😉

      • charlypriest

        I´m quite sure that you would surprise everybody if they knew who you where, your probably working before the wife and kid and gransons and great grandsons wake up, that would be my guess. You must be around 100 years old, so it looked to me.

      • henrygame

        Close Charles, I would say though that I am closer to 630 years old.

      • charlypriest

        You are an old dude, did you meet Mona? You know Mona Lisa, she´s always fascinated me. Plus when you look at her portrait no matter where you are she seems to follow you with her eyes, that´s weird, and I like weird plus she´s hot

      • henrygame

        Unfortunately no, I was a little wrapped up in blood and revenge at the time. I know what you mean though

  • field of thorns

    HG, you most definitely did not disappoint! Clever to plunge the dagger into the book, too bad you had to sacrifice the book! Okay, not human supernatural, so the hand will be okay? Please I hope that you don’t mind that I share a couple of my favorite lines, because the images are truly fantastic that you have been able to create with your words. “Black fire encompassed my hand both lighting up the cave and plunging us into darkness at the same time, like the negatives to photographs of the sun.” Negatives are so surreal, they have a rather unworldly quality to them, so for me this line is perfect! And here also, “I saw the true face of evil. But, unfortunately for me, an instance is long enough to burn into you and haunt your waking moments for the rest of time.” This reminds me of briefly looking directly at the sun, as to still see the sun when you finally close your eyes. This burning image you have created holds hands nicely with the idea of the photo negatives, I really like this connection.

    Always,
    Pepperanne

    • henrygame

      Well I am glad that my efforts are not lost. I like to litter the text with breadcrumbs, a little bit like a dot-to-dot.
      Thank you Pepperanne once again for your treasured input.
      Toodlepip

Leave a Reply

