Glee

Consumed by the blaze – I gave it…life. I knew what it was – yet all I could see was the black that remained long after the piercing brightness of the furious inferno had devoured and moved on.
Yet still I watched…consumed as that city burned alive, the city and everyone in it.
We stood by the only remaining route of escape and laughed as they saw what was before them. Yet, grotesquely, instead they chose to turn back toward the fire that offered them no hope.
Souls swam through the smoke and choked on the screams of the innocent.
Soon, but not too soon, nothing remained.
Satan suddenly stepped forth. The thin layer of soot breaking off in plumes, from the creases in his suit jacket, as he strode forward.
It took me a moment, but quickly I followed, we all did, some quicker than me.
The whore clung to his arm, dangling like a mosquito. He did not care for her. I could see that. He did not care for anything, least of all me.
I think it was the hideous twinkle of glee in his eye that I found most chilling. I think so anyway.
Charcoal, whether bones or timber, crushed underfoot all the same as Satan stood victorious on his mountain of death.
We all knelt before him.
Some lower than others.
I barely even bent my knees.
That’s when he caught my eye with that look. That chilling twinkle of pure happiness.

About Henry Game

Want to know more? Check out the blog. View all posts by Henry Game

9 responses to “Glee

  • charlypriest

    Ho Ho HO, Merry Christmas kids!!!! Burning in the inferno, No Santa with Henry.

    I was actually missing reading some of your cruel yet highly original and well written and I might also throw in entertaining writing.

    • henrygame

      Thank you Chuck. The flames have burnt too close over the past couple of weeks. Maybe I will write about it one day…maybe, but most likely not. Maybe this is what reminded me about that city burning?
      It is good to reconnect and feel the surge of my wordpress family push against my blistered ribs. Ah, it’s good to be back

  • field of thorns

    HG, so as I mentioned earlier, I just love the entire idea of your blog, along with your special mix of dark humor. So as promised, and I wish I had written it myself, my favorite line from this post, drumroll… “Charcoal, whether bones or timber, crushed underfoot all the same as Satan stood victorious on his mountain of death.” You know it’s fantastic, and the visual that it conjures up is amazing, you can even hear the crunch underfoot! I’m looking forward to your next post. Please take good care.

    Always,
    Pepperanne

    P.S. “The thin layer of soot breaking off in plumes, from the creases in his suit jacket”, is terrific writing also!

    • henrygame

      To receive such wonderful comments, from yourself, is making my mouth twitch up at the ends. Is this happiness?
      Ahem!
      I mean I’m smiling, of course, but it’s a very spooky smile all the same.
      I have an image to uphold you know?
      Thank you for taking the time to dabble in the drivel.

Leave a Reply

