The crossing

I couldn’t say with absolute certainty that that was my first time at sea, due to my lack of memory before I was discovered…but, it certainly felt like it was my first time. If I wasn’t hanging over the side wretching my back out into the channel, I was scurrying around on the slippery deck much like a fish out of water.  The crew watched but they dared not laugh.  Obviously, them being Kings men, my reputation had preceded me and instilled a hostile level of respect amongst the men. With more emphasis on the former they mantained a healthy distance from me throughout the voyage.
During the days I spent most of my time in my shoe box chamber. My purse
heavy with silver, a goodwill gesture from the fat bastard King, I studied the rough map parchments that they had provided. Probably outdated, these things looked like they stretched back to the Roman Empire! But yet, I learnt every square inch as if my life depended on it. For each and everytime I shut my eyes I saw nothing but overcast skies.
At night, whilst the anchor had been lowered I ghosted around the silverwood deck catching snippets of conversation between the unknowing crewmen. Some were even talking about the ‘legendary fables of Henry Game’.
“Let the fucking French have him!” I heard one of the men say;
“They killed his whole family and made him watch whilst his mother and baby sister were tied down and…” I decided to intervene just at that point and the crewman seemed reluctant to continue with his harrowing tale.
I left them to it. I couldn’t  care less anyway. Fuck them! Let England and it’s greedy bastard King, have them!
The coast of France broke the horizon. I yearned for it. Not that I prefered France over England, I just yearned for the thing that kept me awake night after night. Also the same thing that burns behind my temples.  An ich that never ceased. The need for blood. The need for justice, but put more simpler,  the need for revenge!
Here I come France, Rome and whoever else I fucking come across. I hope your ready for me…

About Henry Game

Want to know more? Check out the blog. View all posts by Henry Game

4 responses to “The crossing

  • field of thorns

    I like this post HG! I learn a little bit about Henry’s family, of course I don’t know for sure if it’s a truth, a legend or fable, but as the reader I feel like it’s an interesting fact, that may unfold more in the future. This is a wonderful line, again very visual for me “For each and everytime I shut my eyes I saw nothing but overcast skies”, and I get a little peek inside of Henry’s head. Close to the end of the post, I think I get some insight, perhaps as to what makes Henry tick. “I just yearned for the thing that kept me awake night after night. Also the same thing that burns behind my temples. An ich that never ceased. The need for blood. The need for justice, but put more simpler, the need for revenge!”

    Pippa

Leave a Reply

